ILRS Governing Board

The Governing Board is responsible for the general directions in which the ILRS is providing its services. It defines the official ILRS products, decides upon the satellites to be included in the ILRS tracking list, accepts standards and procedures prepared and proposed by the individual bodies of the ILRS and ensures, through its chairperson, the contact to other services and organizations.

The GB exercises general control over the activities of the Service including modifications to the organization that would be appropriate to maintain efficiency and reliability, while taking full advantage of the advances in technology and theory.

Most GB decisions are to be made by consensus or by a simple majority vote of the members present, provided that there is a quorum consisting of at least ten members of the GB. In case of lack of a quorum the voting is by mail or email. Changes in the Terms of Reference and the Chairperson of the GB can be made by a 2/3 majority of the members of the GB, i.e., by twelve or more votes.

2021-2022 Governing Board Members

Ex-Officio Members:
Michael Pearlman, (Director, Central Bureau)
Claudia Carabajal, (Secretary, Central Bureau)
Urs Hugentobler, (Representative of IAG Commission 1)

Appointed Members:
Daniela Thaller (IERS representative to ILRS)
Sven Bauer (Eurolas Network Rep.)
Jose Rodriguez (Eurolas Network Rep.)
James Bennett (WPLTN Network Rep.)
Zhang Zhongping (WPLTN Network Rep.)
Evan Hoffman (NASA Network Rep., replacing Jan McGarry as of 01-Jan-2020)
Stephen Merkowitz (NASA Network Rep.)

Elected Members:
Vincenza Luceri (Analysis Center Rep.)
Erricos C. Pavlis (Analysis Center Rep.)
Christian Schwatke (Data Center Rep.)
Jean-Marie Torre (LLR Rep.)
Toshi Otsubo (At Large Rep., Chair)
Matt Wilkinson (At Large Rep.)

Appointed Members by the Governing Board
Ulrich Schreiber
Randall Carman

Related Information